Learning to Follow In His Steps

I have been very convicted lately about how I dress myself and my little girls.   What is ‘modest?’  Should all ladies wear skirts and dresses at all times??   It’s the question I’ve always been faced with growing up in a conservative Christian home.  No, my sisters and I did not wear skirts and dresses all the time, but Mom and Dad did encourage us to.  Why do we try to be modest?

We live in a world where ladies are so crudely publicized and where men are so severely tempted…. why make it even harder for them?  Why not teach our children from an early age how to cover themselves so as to have respect for themselves as well as modesty for the sake of others.   We want our beauty to come from within our hearts.  Our beauty is our character which comes from a heart that loves Jesus and one that wants to serve others.

I LOVE to sew and have acquired that great love from my Mother who is an excellent seamstress.  I had seen on Yahoo that there was a lady who is creating a “dress a day” and I thought that was so neat. She takes $1 a day and purchases a dress at a second hand store and then re-creates it to become something more modern.  It is so fun to see the before and after photos.

After so many things the Lord has shown me lately through other families and their modern modest clothing as well as many other things He has brought along my path.. I know He has led me to start this blog.  So I pray that the Lord would use this blog and photos to help encourage you in your Christian walk.  May we be found faithful!

Dress 1

Before we went on vacation I needed a denim jumper for my 2 year old for beach photos.  I didn’t want to spend money – even though I’m a big fan of going to thrift shops – so I dug through her ‘soon to grow into clothes’ and pulled out a pair of bib overalls. I then felt like “the dress a day girl” and went to snipping the bib overalls and snipping the bottom of my way too long denim skirt.  With the leftovers from skirt I was able to transform the bib overalls into a cute little jumper.  To my dismay, I had forgotten to take a picture of the bib overalls before I began!  Well… no going back!  So next time there will be a before photo taken.  :o)

I cut off the pants legs right above the snaps after realizing that snaps just cant’ be popped off with a seam ripper. I found that most manufacturers take into account that 2T children are normally still in diapers. So they let LOTS of room for that big diaper in the back. Which worked amazingly to my advantage.  There was plenty of extra fabric there that I didn’t have to add anything. Actually I had to cut some out!  I then seam ripped the back open all the way up to the waist and was able to sew a strait seam down the back.  Then I used the leftover fabric from my denim skirt and cut a rectangle out of it. The top of the rectangle did not come to a point though.. it was a little fatter so that I had extra room on the sides of the top to sew my seam.

I then pinned front sides together in to the ‘v’ area that used to be where the pants started and sewed it shut. My machine has some fun stitches in it so I used the one that looked the most like the flowers that were on the top of the bibs and used blue thread that also somewhat matched those flowers to make the hem.  And voila!

Since I was able to do this myself it saved me the time of  running to the thrift store and looking for something that would be long enough, and it saved me money.  This item was given to me… so I didn’t end up paying anything for this cute little jumper.  Next time I re-create things I will have photos along the way!  :o)

Let me know if you try this too. In my ‘about’ section you can write posts.

Comments are closed.