Dress 2

Okay, so today is an easy fix.  Clothing companies tend to make most of their dresses shorter than I like.  So if I purchase a 2T dress it is too short and if I purchase the 3T or 4T dress for it’s length then it is too wide at the waist and the sleeves are too long.  Well the dress I put on my daughter this morning had such a problem.  I had to roll her sleeves, but the waist surprisingly didn’t look terrible because of the type of dress.  Plus we were going out to do yard work and it was a little cool so she was wearing pants under it.. which made for the larger waist working out better.

“bye too long sleeves!”

I then surged the edges of the sleeves.. but zig zag will work on a regular machine too.

Then I sewed a small hem using cream thread because I don’t have a very large selection of threads. (I know, I know, orange would have looked better! I had to keep telling myself that cream was just fine.)

Finished!  Now they are the right length.  Hmmm… now I have to figure out another day how to make a way to hold up her pants.. since she is so tiny at the waist but needs the length.  Safety pins just are not that comfortable.

So again, this dress was given to me… so not only was it a quick fix, but it didn’t cost me anything.  Thank you Lord for Your provisions!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 18:08:23

    Aww, that is a good idea. I have that same problem with my daughters dresses. Not so much the sleeves because I live down South but they are always too short so I have to buy her bigger dresses. I would love to see how you would alter the waist of a dress so that it doesn’t look obvious. I love your blog, thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

